Challengers Wanted: This is the Ballad of Italian Todd

I could never cope with the twitch timing required for competitive FPS. I got shouted out of two League of Legends lobbies and my ususal RTS tactic of turtling hardcore only got my loincloth-clad workers mowed down by lasers. Needless to say- I don’t get on well with competitive play. I don’t usually get on with competitive play.

The 2010 release of Ubisoft’s Assassins Creed: Brotherhood brought with it a multiplayer mode and to me it was like a breath of fresh air, with mechanics completely new to me at the time. Interesting gameplay and a long summer away from high school made for some skill building, and I actually got really good- its the only game I played where I could expect to to come second or first every time. And when I did it, I did it as The Barber.

Although there’s no moveset to analyze or killler combos, the animations for kills were horrible, involving lots of neck-slicing from many angles, and other bladed butchery. Moreover it addressed one of my biggest gripes with the whole series- the assassin is obviously visible in bright, standout clothing- the barber looks like an ordinary townsperson. I felt a little of the subtlety and stealth Assassins’ creed used to promise playing as the Demon Barber of Rome. Oh, at the same time in my life, I had just discovered the musical Sweeney Todd and had a ton of fun playing the soundtrack and slitting throats left and right (I was a rather macabre teenager).

(Originally posted on Destructoid Community Blogs on my account there @Stripytrousers

Now then, how about a shave?
Leave a Reply

